The following information regarding Georgia & Tennessee Marriage Licenses is offered as a courtesy only. We are not attorneys or legal representatives of the court. We cannot provide legal advice. Please confirm this information with the court. Fees may vary by State & County.
Depending on where you obtain your marriage license, you MAY be able to apply online & then both appear to pick it up. This saves time if you have all of your required documents in order.
In both GA & TN witnesses are not required to apply for the license or to witness the ceremony.
A marriage license is a license to marry only. Your marriage is not legal until it is solemnized by an Officiant or Minister, signed & returned to the court.
* Regarding Premarital Counseling Course * Tennessee & Georgia Codes provides that couples who complete premarital preparation courses shall be exempt from the fees otherwise imposed by that code section ($60 in TN & $56 in GA). The course must not be less than four (4) hours in TN & (6) hours in GA and completed no more than one year prior to the date of application for the license. Parties may attend separate classes. If they do, separate certificates must be filed.
GEORGIA: Marriage Law Requirements for Georgia Marriage Licenses: Before a marriage can occur in Georgia, a license must be obtained from a County Clerk’s office.
Both applicants must be 18 years of age or older to apply for a marriage license without parental consent.
Both applicants must appear in person to complete the application for a marriage license.
Both applicants must provide proper identification.
Premarital blood tests are no longer required under Georgia law.
There is no waiting period for getting married in Georgia.
Applicants can apply for a marriage license in any county Probate Court in Georgia, provided at least one of the applicants is a resident of the State of Georgia.
If neither applicant is a resident of the State of Georgia, the couple must apply in the county in which the ceremony is to be performed.
The Georgia marriage license does not have an expiration date.
Georgia marriage license fees are $56 without Premarital Education completed. $16 with Premarital Education course. There is a $10 charge for the certified copy of the marriage license, which is mailed to the applicants after recording, and a $10 fee for the certified copy of the license application for the Social Security Administration. Please check with your local county Probate Court for more details.
TENNESSEE: Marriage Law Requirements for Tennessee Marriage Licenses: Before a marriage can occur in Tennessee, a license must be obtained from a County Clerk’s office.
Both parties must appear for the issuance of the marriage license.
There is no waiting period in Tennessee.
The marriage license is valid for thirty (30) days from issuance, and is good for ceremonies performed anywhere in Tennessee.
Proof of your Social Security number is required for both parties.
Age requirements for marriage in the State of Tennessee are as follows. For persons:
Under the age of 16: A waiver must be issued from Juvenile Court.
Between the ages of 16 – 18: You must have both parents accompany you and sign the approval affidavit. A birth certificate is required for verification. There is also a three-day waiting period for approvals.
Between the ages of 18 – 21: A birth certificate is required for verification.
Over the age of 21: A picture ID is required for verification.
Tennessee marriage license fee varies by county. However, license applicants who have completed a Premarital Education course within a year prior to the date of application for the license are exempted from paying $60.00 of the fee. Please check with your local county Probate Court for more details.
ACLU-TN's Marriage Guide for LGBT Couples in Tennessee. Please visit their website HERE.
* We are not affiliated with the ACLU in any way & provide this link as a courtesy only.
Georgia Equality's Marriage & Relationship Resources for LGBT Couples in Georgia. Please visit their website HERE.
* We are not affiliated with Georgia Equality in any way & provide this link as a courtesy only.
If you need to obtain an official, certified birth certificate or copy of your marriage license you can apply online for a copy at https://www.vitalchek.com/
* We are not affiliated with this company in any way & provide this link as a courtesy only.